May 2, 2017

Lagos-based team, AS Racines has finally gained promotion into the Nation-Wide League One after an impressive campaign in the Amateur League Two Group A.

The Emmanuel Ibru-lads and former champions of Delta and Lagos FA Cup earned promotion at the expense of Spartans, Indomie FC of Ogun State, Messiah FC of Lagos and Police Machine of Abeokuta. They lost one, drew one and won all other games of the series.
The club’s management at the weekend in Lagos commended the doggedness of the players with an award party.

Taiwo Adeyemi was adjudged best goalkeeper of the season, the best defender award went to Mutairu Idris, Ariski Zeme was the club’s best midfielder, Odewale Taiwo got best behaved player award while, Kehinde Gbadegeshin went home with the best striker’s award.

The club’s chairman and former NFF board member, Emmanuel Ibru, boasted that top clubs should watch out for AS Racines as they aim to secure a spot in the elite division in the nearest future.

It will be recalled that Super Eagles striker, Osaze Odemwingie, Fengor Ogude, late Adefemi Olubayo were all products of the club.


  1. A WordPress Commenter - May 2, 2017 at 10:06 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To get started with moderating, editing, and deleting comments, please visit the Comments screen in the dashboard.
    Commenter avatars come from Gravatar.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Video